Preview Mode

Use this mode to rapidly preview the picture that is currently selected (highlighted) in the Filmstrip. To quickly inspect the picture’s details, zoom in using the mouse wheel. By default, pictures are shown at the “Fit to Window” zoom level. Click and hold the left mouse button to show the picture at 100% zoom. Then drag the picture to pan it. Release the button to automatically return to “Fit to Window” zoom.

You can also change the zoom level using the buttons on the toolbar above the preview area, or using the usual shortcut keys. The toolbar contains these controls:

  • Fast Preview – use this to choose between loading at full quality and fast previewing at lower quality. WhenFast Preview is selected, the Load Full Quality at 1:1 Zoom option becomes available. When Full Quality  is selected, the Fast Preview for Multiple Files option becomes available.
  • A zoom slider to smoothly zoom in or out
  • Normal Size (1:1) [Num *] – sets the zoom level to 100%
  • Fit to Frame [Num 0] – fits the whole picture in the preview
  • Fit Shorter Side [Num .] – fits the picture’s shorter side; the picture can then be scrolled in one direction only; useful e.g. for viewing panoramas
  • Zoom Lock [Num /] – makes the zoom level stay the same when you switch pictures
  • Synchronize Zoom – only available when Preview is showing multiple previews; synchronizes the zoom level among previews

Showing Multiple Files

When multiple files are selected in the Filmstrip, Preview shows them all. Up to 9 pictures can be previewed at once. Run the mouse over a picture to show these other controls:

  • top left – pin file
  • top right – remove file from selection
  • bottom left – rate picture, temporarily rotate right/left, delete picture
  • bottom right – colored labels

By default, zoom-level changes are synchronized among all previews shown; to turn this behavior off, use the corresponding button on the toolbar.

Pinning a Picture

Pinning pictures is useful e.g. when you are selecting the best photo out of a series you’ve shot. When a picture is pinned, it is shown in the left preview, and the next picture is selected. Then use the keyboard to switch to other pictures and compare them with the pinned picture.

When another picture is pinned afterwards, it is shown on the left in place of the original pinned picture. Click the pinning icon at the top left again to unpin the picture.